Directory

Admin Core | BDM Core | Uganda Cohort | Russia Cohort | Boston Cohort | NIAAA | Fellows and Junior Investigators | Advisory Panel

Contact Us
Administrative Coordinating Core

Principal Investigator

Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Heath,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Investigators and Staff

i

Carly Bridden, MA, MPH
Administrative Director
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5768
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Carly.Bridden@bmc.org
Allen Gifford, MD
Co-Investigator for Administrative Core – Implementation Research
Professor of Medicine and Public Health
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
715 Albany Street
Talbot Building, T348W
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (781) 687-3417
agifford@bu.edu
Website
Natalia Gnatienko, MPH
Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3843
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Natalia.Gnatienko@bmc.org
Biostatistics and Data Management Core

Principal Investigator

Debbie Cheng, ScD
PI for Biostatistics and Data Management Core
Biostatistician for Uganda and Russia Cohorts
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5989
dmcheng@bu.edu
Investigators and Staff

i

Christine Chaisson, MPH
Director of the BUSPH Data Coordinating Center
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5009
chaisson@bu.edu
Director of Data Management
Timothy Heeren, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5177
tch@bu.edu
Biostatistician for Boston Cohort
Michael Winter, MPH
Associate Director of the BUSPH Data Coordinating Center
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5015
mwinter@bu.edu
Uganda Cohort

Principal Investigator

Judith Hahn PhD, MA
Associate Professor in Residence, Infectious Diseases, San Francisco General Hospital
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-4961
Fax: (415) 597-9213
Judy.hahn@ucsf.edu
Website
Investigators and Staff

i

Nneka Emenyonu, DrPH, MPH
Project Director, Infectious Diseases, San Francisco General Hospital
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-9346
Fax: (415) 597-9213
emenyonun@ucsf.edu
Robin Fatch
Statistician/Data Manager, Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-4976
Fax: (415) 597-9213
robin.fatch@ucsf.edu
Peter Hunt, MD
Assistant Adjunct Professor
University of California, San Francisco
Positive Health Program
SFGH Building 80, Ward 84
995 Potrero Ave. Box 0874
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone: (415) 476-4082 x345
phunt@php.ucsf.edu
Co-Investigator
Winnie Muyindike, MBChB, MMED
Director of Immune Suppression Syndrome Clinic
Mbarara University of Science and Technology
Department Of Internal Medicine
P.O Box 1410 Mbarara Uganda
Phone: 256 – 772- 52-1619
wmuyindike@gmail.com
Co-Investigator
Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Health,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Co-Investigator
Starley Shade, PhD
Assistant Professor
University of California, San Francisco
50 Beale Street
San Francisco, CA 94143
Phone: (415) 597-9254
Fax: (415) 597-9213
starley.shade@ucsf.edu
Co-Investigator
Russia Cohort

Principal Investigator

Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Health,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Investigators and Staff

i

Elena A. Blokhina, MD, PhD
Scientific Secretary, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
Pavlov State Medical University
197022 Lev Tolstoy St 6/8
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-8-901-373-5396
blokhinaelena@gmail.com
Co-Investigator
Matthew Freiberg, MD, MSc
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Vanderbilt Medical Center
2525 West End Bldg, office 385
Nashville, TN 37235
Phone: (412) 586-9847
Fax: (412) 692-4838
matthew.s.freiberg@vanderbilt.edu
Co-Investigator
Natalia Gnatienko, MPH
Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3843
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Natalia.Gnatienko@bmc.org
Evgeny Krupitsky, MD, PhD, D.Med.Sci, Prof.
Chief, Lab of Clinical Pharmacology of Addictions, Pavlov State Medical University
Chief, Department of Addictions,
St. Petersburg Bekhterev Psychoneurological Research Institute
Bekhtereva St, 3,
St. Petersburg 192019 Russia
Phone: 011-7-901-300-5811
Fax: 011-7-812-365-2217
kruenator@gmail.com
PI for Russia Cohort Subcontract
Dmitry Lioznov, MD, PhD
Vice-Rector for Nursing Education, Pavlov State Medical University
Head, Center for Preventive Medicine
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
197089
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
Fax: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
dlioznov@yandex.ru
Co-Investigator
Edwin Zvartau, MD, PhD, DMSci
Head, Department of Clinical Pharmacology & Evidence-Based Med
Research Director, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
St. Petersburg 197022 Russia
Phone: 011-7-812-499 7023
Fax: 011-7-812-346 3414
Zvartau@gmail.com
Project Director for Russia Cohort Subcontract
Boston Cohort

Principal Investigator

Richard Saitz, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-7744
Fax: (617) 414-4676
rsaitz@bu.edu
Website
Investigators and Staff

i

Michael Holick, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
715 Albany Street, M-1013
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-4546
Fax: (617) 638-8882
mfholick@bu.edu
Co-Investigator
Seville Meli, MPH
Director of Research Operations
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6917
Fax: (617) 414-4676
seville.meli@bmc.org
Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Heath,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Co-Investigator
Margaret Sullivan, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
771 Albany St.
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3574
Meg.Sullivan@bmc.org
Co-Investigator
Alexander Walley, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6975
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Alexander.Walley@bmc.org
Website
Co-Investigator
Alicia Ventura, MPH
Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6914
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Alicia.Ventura@bmc.org
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

NIAAA

Kendall Bryant, PhD
Director, HIV/AIDS Research, NIAAA
Scientific Collaborator, Consortiums for HIV/AIDS and Alcohol Research Translation (CHAART) National Institutes on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Bethesda MD 20892-7003
Phone: (301) 402-9389
Kbryant@mail.nih.gov
Fellows and Junior Investigators

Fellows

Julian Adong, MBChB
Medical Officer
MUST Grants Office
Mbarara University
P.O. Box 1410
Mbarara, Uganda
Phone: +256-71-261-4770
adongjulian@gmail.com
Adam Carrico, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
UCSF School of Nursing
2 Koret Way, Nursing
San Francisco CA 94143
Phone: (415) 502-0955
adam.carrico@ucsf.edu
Nadia Fairbairn, MD
Internal Medicine Resident
n.fairbairn@gmail.com
Daniel Fuster, MD, PhD
Research Scholar
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6687
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Daniel.Fuster@bmc.org
Bulat Idrisov, MD, MSc
Fulbright Grantee
International Health Policy and Management
Heller School of Social Policy and Management
Brandeis University
Waltham, MA 02453
bidrisov@gmail.com
Karen Jacobson, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
850 Harrison Avenue
Dowling 3 North, 3112
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5213
Fax: (617) 638-8070
Karen.Jacobson@bmc.org
Tetiana Kiriazova, PhD
NIDA INVEST Fellow
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-2705
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Tetiana.Kiriazova@bmc.org
Karsten Lunze, DrPH, MD, MPH
Research Assistant Professor
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6933
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Karsten.Lunze@bmc.org
Jared Magnani, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
88 E. Newton Street, D-7, Division of Cardiology
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-8714
jared.magnani@bmc.org
Seonaid Nolan, MB BCh, FRCPC
Addiction Medicine Fellow
St. Paul’s Hospital
1081 Burrard St, 608
Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y6, Canada
Phone: (778) 387-7254
seonaidn@gmail.com
Kaku So-Armah, PhD
Postdoctoral Associate
University of Pittsburgh
112 Stratford Ave, #2
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Phone: (703) 944-2037
kaa58@pitt.edu
Kinna Thakarar, DO, MPH
Fellow in Infectious Disease
Boston Medical Center
850 Harrison Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
Kinna.Thakarar@bmc.org
Judith Tsui, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
Crosstown Center
801 Massachusetts Ave., 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6912
Judith.Tsui@bmc.org
Arina Tyurina, MD, PhD
Research Associate
Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
Pavlov State Medical University
197022 Lev Tolstoy Street 6/8
St. Petersburg, Russia
arina.tyurina5@gmail.com
Jennifer A. Wagman, PhD, MHS
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of California, San Diego
Division of Global Public Health, School of Medicine
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0507
La Jolla, CA 92093-0507
Tel: (858) 246-0066
Fax: (858) 534-7566
jwagman@ucsd.edu
Sarah Woolf-King, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar
UCSF School of Medicine
50 Beale Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone: (415) 597-9198
Fax: (415) 597-9213
sarah.woolf-king@ucsf.edu
Scientific Advisory Panel

Kenneth Freedberg, MD, MSc
Professor, Harvard School of Public Health
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
50 Staniford St.
MGH, 9th Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 724-3341
kfreedberg@partners.org
Victor Hesselbrock, PhD
Professor, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Univ. of Connecticut Health Center, MC1410
263 Farmington Avenue
Farmington, CT 06030
Phone: (860) 679-4282
hesselb@psychiatry.uchc.edu
Amy Justice, MD, MSc, PhD
Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Section Chief, West Haven VA Healthcare System
950 Campbell Avenue
West Haven, CT 06516
Phone: (203) 932-5711 x3541
amy.justice2@med.va.gov
Mimi Kim, ScD
Professor, Epidemiology and Population Health
Albert Einstein School of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room 1303B
Bronx, NY 10461
Phone: (718) 430-2017
mikim@aecom.yu.edu
Michael Stein, MD
Professor of Medicine
Brown University School of Medicine
345 Blackstone Boulevard
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: (401) 455-6646
michael_stein@brown.edu